29
Dec
09

Deep Fried Fear at The Cape Cod Mall.

Nothing quite so instills me with fear than The Cape Cod Mall.

The sense memory, reminder of childhood fear combined with the ever-present Out-Transwoman reactions.

Stirred into a cocktail of deep fried and fish battered fear.

So what in the name of whatever Gods happen to hold sway in this part of the universe am I doing here?

Every time I come back to the Cape, I repeat the same pattern.

Drive down Main Street.

Visit an old home.

Drive by only.  Never get out.

And walk through The Cape Cod Mall.

I hope that I will spot someone I know/knew.

Although I almost never do.

All the people I knew are grown and gone or quite simply know better than to spend any more time at The Mall than is absolutely necessary.

But still I go.

Soak in the sickly-sweet and artificial, terror infused ambience.

Remind myself to slow my pace.

Smile.

As if I am not bothered in the least.

When I can take no more, I leave.

And typically I will head to Sam Diego’s.

Same idea.

An order of nostalgia with a nice stiff drink.

And maybe I’ll see someone I know/knew.

Sometimes I do.

Usually I don’t.

But I do get to hear that accent.

That particular working-class accent.

So homey and dangerous at the same time.

2 Responses to “Deep Fried Fear at The Cape Cod Mall.”


  1. December 29, 2009 at 3:17 am

    There is something very pleasing about nostalgia even if it’s mixed with some fear.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 749 other followers

Erisis RIGHT NOW!!!

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Flickr Photos

Transprov Time Machine


