11
Mar
13

“She’s Got A D!%k” A TransComic Analysis

So, if you’re trans, by this point in the news and social media cycle, you will have heard about the Justin Timberlake starring trailer for a faux romantic comedy called “She’s Got A D!%k” on Saturday Night Live this past weekend. And you probably already have, or are trying to form, an opinion.

The first I heard about this sketch myself was just this evening, on a Facebook thread in which my opinion as a Second City trained Sketch Comic and Improviser was solicited. And I resisted reading any of the comments before I watched, so I could get a fresh take on it.

What I got was at least two good chuckles, one of which was a Eugene Levy reference, which, was really just spot-on. Also, a couple of “Awwws.” And the thought, that afterwards I read reflected in various comments, that, gosh, I’d really like to actually see this movie!! It would probably even become a guilty favourite.

There has already been at least one pretty insightful blog post by a transperson, written by Antonia D’orsay who is the Executive Director of This Is How. And though I don’t agree with everything Ms. D’orsay has to say about the subject, it is well worth a read for it’s pretty in-depth analysis of the deeper issues.

So, that being the case, I’ll stick with looking at the sketch from the point of view of a comedy professional who also happens to be trans.

I could break down the technical details of the sketch for hours, but basically what you need to know is, despite the title of the movie, it’s not really a sketch about trans people. Or rather more specifically, the subject of trans people is incidental to the main joke. That joke being, how formulaic romantic comedies are.

Take one “meet cute”. Flavour with any randomly contrived conflict (spin the magic wheel and it lands on…. “Woman with a penis”) that’s only ever really a matter of characters being honest with each other. Add a pinch of concerned authority figure (Eugene Levy!). Stir in a quirky friend (The magic wheel lands on…. “Funny black guy”). Separate the obviously meant to be together couple for a really unacceptably dumb reason (the aforementioned penis), that makes the audience want to scream at how dumb they’re being. Bake for 70 minutes or so and then let the characters finally get over the contrived conflict and get together.

Que the audience reacting with, “Awwwwwwwwwww, that was sooooooo cute!!”

Heck, if anything was offensive, my pick would be the borderline stereotyped black character. Not that I think anyone will complain. It worked and was funny. Which sounds simplistic, I know. But my experience with what people will or will not be offended by in comedy is that’s usually where the safe side of the line lies.

I'm ready for my close-up Mr. Michaels!

I’m ready for my close-up Mr. Michaels!

As for it being a cis woman playing trans . Yes, this usually bothers me in lots of other things. However, the requirements of sketch comedy are such that it is common for members of an ensemble to play all sorts of characters they quite clearly aren’t. And I thought that the lovely and talented Nasim Pedrad did an excellent and rather sympathetic job. So, while Lorne Michaels is more than welcome to call me anytime he needs an authentic trans person (Please call me Mr. Michaels!!! Please, please, pretty please with a token trans woman on top!!!), the only way I’d have a problem with this is if they actually made this movie for reals. In which case, it damned well better be a trans actress playing the part!

Finally, I have to say that I find it to be a fairly positive thing that mainstream comedy shows like SNL feel their audience is familiar enough with trans people to use us as a comedic reference in a way that isn’t just the old “hairy guy in a dress” trope that was already a standard when Milton Berle was using it (yeah, I’m looking at you Craig Ferguson!). This may not seem at first blush to be so significant or even positive, but I assure you it is. Comedy, especially sketch comedy, tends to play to the reference level of its audience. So, for a show as broadly appealing as SNL to produce a sketch with this level of sophistication in its reference to transgender people and our lives, it has to be assumed that the bulk of the unwashed masses will actually, “get it”.

So, there you go. I liked it. It was okay, not great, but well done and funny. And possibly even slightly positive!

Possibly. Maybe. I hope.

4 Responses to ““She’s Got A D!%k” A TransComic Analysis”


  1. March 11, 2013 at 12:42 pm

    Good lord… the potential just sank in… for something like this to become the go-to chick-flick for the “ice-breaker” date, for the “passable dame”.†

    I can’t bring myself to spell it out. I prefer action movies, myself, unless we’re talking about “Green Card”?

    † Alternatively, in a scenario that might even have the potential to be produced in this universe, a movie about a half-crazed trans screenwriter of incomparable gifts selling a similar script to a bunch of movie execs? (Like “Bowfinger”, only TRUE GENIUS is involved!)

  2. March 12, 2013 at 5:58 am

    I liked the trailer. Either sadly or hilariously, I think it would make for a good two, two-and-a-half star film. The fake trailer is okay to good, so’d I’d expect the same from a “real” film for that trailer.

    • 3 Erisis
      March 12, 2013 at 12:12 pm

      Yeah, definitely pretty formulaic!

      • March 12, 2013 at 4:03 pm

        My Dad, Jack Sandeen, first worked at Disney Studios as a costumer in the ’70’s, and then in the late ’70’s and early ’80’s was the head of Disney’s Wardrobe Department, taught my siblings and me a word when I was a kid that has stuck with me for years: Schmaltzy.

        In your analysis, you really spelled out the formulaic nature of the romantic comedy genre. My comment is that the formula itself is designed to be “heartwarming” shmaltz. I see the heartening thing for us trans folk within the SNL sketch is that a trans women can be portrayed as a whole human being who can fall in love with someone who loves her back, but the joke wasn’t that she was trans but — as you said — the joke was the formula of the romantic comedy genre. SNL made fun of the formula even down to how the mentor and the friend characters were named in the sketch.

        When trans characters can be part of a joke without being the butt of a joke in a comedy sketch, it does in a broad sense humanize trans people. From an activist point of view, that’s the part of the skit I appreciated the most: the trans character in the sketch wasn’t a caricature of a trans woman, but a characterization of a very human and humanized trans woman.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 747 other followers

Erisis RIGHT NOW!!!

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Flickr Photos

Transprov Time Machine


